Using different colored threads for basting, tailors tacks and grain lines

While sewing the Dirndl Dress, I used black cotton basting thread to mark the Center Front, Cross Chest Width, Cross Back Width and Hip Line of the garment pieces. The same black thread was also used to baste all the seams. The result was that after awhile I couldn’t tell what was what and I ended up removing the threads marking the grain lines.

I’ve decided to start using different colored threads for marking and basting. I bought a set of colorful cotton threads which I’ll use on my next project. I think the use of different colors will work out well, especially since I plan to use only solid colors for the skirt and blouse I plan to make.

2 thoughts on “Using different colored threads for basting, tailors tacks and grain lines

Comments are closed.