Roll Collar with Neckline Facing, Parts 4 and 5: Finishing and Steam pressing the facing

4 A. Wright’s Flex-Lace Hem Tape is pinned, basted and stitched around the entire outer edge of the facing after it is pinked.

4 B. View of the inside of the facing. A straight stitch was used on the inner edge and a zig-zag on the outer edge to sew the lace in place.

5 A. In preparation for pressing the facing, center fronts and lapels of the blouse in place it is first placed on the dress form. The facing is pinned where is meets the shoulders, waistline and hemline. The blouse is then taken off the dress form and the facing is basted in place along the outer edges.

5 B. Using short bursts of steam, with the iron held at a distance from the fabric, the facing is pressed in place. I use a Tailor’s Ham when pressing the back neckline.

After pressing in place, the facing is tacked to the seams at shoulder and waistline yoke. The bottoms of the facing are slip stitched to the hem of the blouse.

5 C. View of finished facing on the inside of the blouse. I think having a beautifully finished inside is as important as the outside. The lace makes me feel a little bit of luxury is added to the garment.

I’d also like to credit Gertie (Gretchen Hirsch) for some of these ideas. As part of my self-study program to revive my sewing skills, she has added a great enjoyment for me as well as a spirit of fun.

5 D. Close-ups of back neckline facing and side front of the finished facing on the inside of the blouse.

The best version of this blouse so far! In the photo you can’t see the cuffs or collar very well but in real time they’re noticeable. I still need to select buttons and make buttonholes. I’ll be asking for my reader’s preferences once I’m ready to do this. I’m thinking of fabric covered buttons in black but am also attracted to some old fashioned looking soft white buttons that make a better appearance on the blouse. I want to see how both work in combination with the skirt fabric.

I’ll be going away for vacation later this week but even then I’ll be thinking of the details for this blouse all the time! What I like about this print fabric is that it captures more of the 1950ish mood I’m looking for than the solid color red blouse did. This is not a retro print but for me it has a feeling of what I remember from that time period. As a child, I remember my Mom had pretty print blouses that were very good matches for her skirts or else complemented them very well. There was a feeling of light hearted femininity during that time period that adapted well to women of all ages. I’m trying to do something like that here–create an outfit that would look good on a teenager in love with retro styles or even a woman at mid-life looking to revive those memories of the past and adapt them for today.

