New Project: Secretary Blouse with Bow and Sheath Skirt

The previous postings on how to draft a Basic Unfitted Bodice and Sleeve provide the foundation for recreating a style of Secretary Blouse with Bow similar to this vintage pattern envelope illustration I found on Pinterest.

The basic patterns will be used to recreate a style similar to #1 on this pattern envelope. I’m in the process of cutting and sewing up the toile. When it’s done, I’m going to post the photos.

The Basic Unfitted bodice is first drafted and then transformed to include details that will bring it close to the illustration.

I have not been able to find which pattern company created this style so I do not have the back pattern envelope with the illustration of the back view.

This style, though, is simple enough and will lend itself to interpretation. To keep the blouse smooth when it is tucked in, it looks like there are tucks stitched from the hem of the blouse and released slightly above the waistband. I have added four such tucks to the back of the blouse and one on each side of the front. This should control the fullness below the waistline so that the sheath skirt will fall smoothly over the hips.

The side bust dart on the Basic Unfitted Bodice Front is lowered.

For the sleeve, I’ve transformed the Basic Unfitted Sleeve into the Blouse Sleeve with cuff and placket. The sleeve will be gathered into the cuff.

Once the bodice is finished I have to see if I cut the bow on the straight grain or the bias.

When the toile is completed, I’ll post photos and the instructions for pattern transformation.

The sheath skirt pattern and sewing tutorials for it will come after completion of the blouse.

