1930s Sew-along with Norma: More fabric considerations

I have ordered more swatches for the 1930s Sew-along with Norma.  These also come from the Fashion Fabrics Club.

As much as I love all the prints I’ve selected there is an  important detail I have to consider.  The flared skirt has the straight grain on Center Back and Center Front until slightly before the Princess Line on the front and back of the dress form.  After that point the flares begin and the fabric goes on the bias.  This means the pattern will begin to appear on an angle.  And that angle increases at the side seam.  Not only that but some of the florals might form a chevron pattern on the side seam if they are perfectly matched.  I think this would ruin all the effort put into ensuring a good fit for the dress.  Also the flares and line might get lost in the prints.

The resolution is to have the dress in a solid color and select a print fabric for the ties on the front bodice and the sleeves.  Here are the additional fabrics I’ll consider.  Click on the name to go to the FFC site for the full description.

buttercream20yellow_zpsjvbrsaol

Buttercream Yellow Crepe de Chine

beige20blue_zps2g0snw8o

Beige Blue Floral Crepe de Chine

navy20blue20crepe_zpsj22b8sbk

Deep Navy Blue Crepe

beige20pink_zpsbmqxxv51

Beige/Pink Floral Crepe de Chine

coral20pink20crepe20suiting_zpsrvcrkh0m

Coral Pink Crepe Suiting

soft20peach_zps4pqczfcs

Soft Peach Crepe de Chine

golden20beige20floral_zpshuvvquvu

Golden Beige Floral Triple Georgette

poppy_zpseao4sybb

Poppy Red Crepe

6 thoughts on “1930s Sew-along with Norma: More fabric considerations

  1. I think my comment was lost in the ether!
    I like the poppy red because I think it would spectacular with the pattern. And I’m not thinking of me this time as I have very pink skin tones and couldn’t wear it….

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.