1930s Sew-along with Norma: Contrasting trim needed

Greetings sewistas!  I thought I’d have another love fest with my 1930s dress project this weekend.  The neckline was scheduled to be finished until I cut out the bias binding using the same fabric as the dress.  There was absolutely no way to discern all the work that will go into creating the bias cut binding and the fine hand sewing involved in its application to the neckline and sleeve hem.  So…it’s back to considering another approach.

I’ve decided to look for a solid color fabric that will pick up on the lovely shade of Spring Green in the print of the dress.  This will provide just the right touch at the neckline and sleeve.  What I’m now concerned about is how will I handle the belt.  If I use just the dress fabric for the belt it will look as if the buckle is floating around on the waistline without the belt to hold it together.  What I’m thinking at this point is that perhaps I will use the print fabric for the dress and the solid fabric used for the trim to create a belt that is braided or a combination of both fabrics.  This seems overwhelming to consider right now with all the other details coming into play.  I think if I live with it for awhile it will become more approachable.

So here are the swatches I’ve ordered from FashionFabricsClub.com  for the next phase of the 1930s Sew-along with Norma.  The screen shots are from the Fashion Fabrics Club website with the link to the description below each fabric.  I will have to test the weight of each of these against the fashion fabric for the dress.  I’ll also have to be careful that they do not bleed if steam pressed or dampened.  This was an unexpected development but if I get the right shade of green the trim will work very well with the buttons.  We’ll have to see what happens with the belt when the dress is finished.  I think it’s best to leave that until last.

Fashion fabric for dress with vintage glass buckle and buttons.

Swatches on order for bias trimming at neckline and sleeve hem.

Spring Green Crushed Velour
https://www.fashionfabricsclub.com/Catalog?Keyword=37467

Spring Green Crepe
https://www.fashionfabricsclub.com/Catalog?Keyword=43420X

Aqua Green Crepe
https://www.fashionfabricsclub.com/Catalog?Keyword=42479x

Dark Aqua Green Faille
https://www.fashionfabricsclub.com/Catalog?Keyword=32712

 

4 thoughts on “1930s Sew-along with Norma: Contrasting trim needed

Comments are closed.