First skirt toile: Fitting issues

Introduction

I decided to do the fitting toile in separate parts before assembling the bodice to the skirt.  This makes it easier for me to focus on the specific areas in each that present fitting problems.  As I am learning today, the surgical mesh that was put in place in the late 1990s to repair an incisional hernia has affected the fit of the skirt around the waist and abdomen.

Here are a few photos on the problems as well as what I think the toile is telling me the solutions should be.

First Skirt Toile-Fitting problems and possible solutions

first20skirt20toile206_zpsxo7vaykg

My abdomen is a bit puffy where the mesh was placed.  This affected the waistline and abdomen lines.  The front skirt length is 1″ more while the side and back skirt length are the same.  I eliminated 1/4″ from the center front length and it now rests in a better position.

There was only 3/4″ for dart intake.  The drafting instructions called for dividing that intake evenly between two darts.  I do not like the way the darts look.  Also, during the fitting the waistline gaped between the darts.  I will use this extra amount to increase the intake.  The extra amount was pinned into place.

first20skirt20toile204_zpsrygwoxii

This custom made dress form includes a derriere which I think makes a big difference when aiming for an accurate fit and enough ease around a pencil skirt or any skirt for that matter.  At the back, I also found more gaping between the darts, so that excess will be used for the next skirt’s back darts.  Here, too, I am thinking one dart may be better than two.

first20skirt20toile205_zpsabttecgj

To create a more pleasing shape, I’m going to try tapering the skirt from the hip to hemline.  I’ll measure in about 1/8 to 3/16″ at the side seam and taper to zero at the hip.  This will give the skirt a bit more of a curvy shape.

first20skirt20toile207_zpsyhrwrzal

To create some sense of shape at the front and make something of a visual distraction from the puffy abdomen I think darts that slant to the side seams might work.  What do you think?

first20skirt20toile201_zpspofiewxm

It’s still too soon to tell how the next toile will come out but I think there will be some improvement.  If you look at the right side of the skirt (left in the photo) there already is a better shape resulting from some tapering at the side seam and taking in the excess fabric that had been gaping.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “First skirt toile: Fitting issues

    • Thanks! I have to redo everything. There is something going on at center front, right over my “little puff” in the abdomen. I’ve realized I’m giving the puff too much influence. I’m going to drop the center front down to where the waist should be. Then I’m going to manipulate the measurements at side seam and center back.

      I may have to make a tapering from zero at the abdomen to 1/4″ in at Center front. Once I figure out the solution I’ll post the details.

      The bodice is too tight under the arms because of my sloping shoulders. Which means the sleeve has to be redone too.

      Isn’t it always the case that one alteration in one place leads to tweaking in other places on the pattern!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I have found that with pants fitting too. You really need to know where to start! But also now I have some basic adjustments I do and then I don’t worry too much about some of the other stuff.

        Liked by 1 person

      • My pant making is so much faster now because I know there are 3 standard adjustments: lengthen scoop out crotch seam, decrease back inseam, add 0.5cm on right hip when attaching wasitband. Occasionally I run into issues (upcoming post alert!) but usually now I can sort things pretty quickly with those quick fixes.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes, I agree the learning is a process and our skills are constantly improving as we grow more aware. I am so itching to get to work on the pattern but since my vacation is over and the usual schedule back in place I’ll have to do it when there is a nice lull to claim “me time” in! I hope your new job is going well.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I think you’re conscious of your abdomen and may end up emphasising it if you worry about slanting darts. A smooth appearance with no gaping may be more important?
    I’m looking forward to the process

    Like

Leave a Reply

